City Mouse, Country Mouse

Not a whole lot has been going on around here.  May and I have been filling our days by going outside, playing on the playground, creating sidewalk art with chalk, and just laying low. Daniel was able to a break from studying for the bar last weekend to enjoy a family outing at Frye Spring’s Beach Club with some of his coworkers. What a great little oasis in the middle of the city.

I thought I had never heard of this glorious little place until Daniel kindly reminded me that we had, in fact, been to Frye Spring’s before. Frye Spring’s hosted UVA Law School’s Barrister Ball back in 2008. How could I not remember this you ask? Well, I’m not much of a drinker, so when I am confronted with an open bar and loud music, I tend to overindulge and it would be no stretch of the imagination to say I was a hot, drunk mess that evening. We showed up looking like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and left looking like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And I’m the Kate, not the Kelly in this picture.

We had a great time at Frye’s Springs. It was nice to spend some time as a family, which has been severely limited due to the impending bar exam for Daniel. May got to play with a little friend her age. They fed each other watermelon and traded kisses. I thought I would die on the spot.

An interesting thing that happened was an introduction of sorts that I wasn’t quite ready for. One of Daniel’s co-workers was introducing us to his children and said, “Eliza, this is Mrs. Shean.” Weird. Mrs. Shean is my mother-in-law. It really caught me off guard. It makes sense though. When I was a child, I would have never addressed an adult by their first name. This situation was no different, but I’ve always had it in my head that people who are addressed as “Mr. and Mrs. Such and Such” are at least 43. Not 29. Right?

May and I also squeezed in a trip to the country to visit her lolo, Nonna and Uncle Skye. Great visit, as always. The fresh air and wide open spaces always seem to have a rejuvenating effect on May. I think she goes stir crazy in our little apartment.

May and her Nonna in the early morning light. I wish all my pictures looked this good.

Lastly, May has spent lots of time working on her art. She wrote out a message to her daddy:

“I can’t wait until the bar is over!”

 

2 thoughts on “City Mouse, Country Mouse

  1. Sunnyace says:

    Reblogged this on Sunnyace Collections.

  2. nonna formerly known as yaya says:

    Wonderful collage Ace! Or should I say….Mrs. Shean?

Leave a Reply

