Brushing teeth, etc.

Okay, sometimes I think things in the parenting sphere have gotten totally out of hand. Perfect example: pediatric dentistry. Apparently you’re supposed to take your child to the dentist by one year old, or by the time they get their first tooth. AND, you’re supposed to brush their teeth. (Never mind my child only has four and a half teeth and only uses them to bite my toes.) Is it just me, or does that seem a bit overboard? But here we are, brushing her teeth, just like they’ve told us to do….

Daddy, I hope you used the whitening toothpaste.

As a new parent, I think it’s hard to filter out the good recommendations from the ridiculous ones. In my mind, common sense should prevail, but ‘parenting experts’ do such a great job of scaring you into submission that it becomes difficult to follow your gut. Prime example: blankets. ‘Experts’ tell you not to have anything in the crib because of the risk of suffocation. As totally freaked out parents, we followed this and do you know what the result has been? My child won’t sleep with a blanket! It is totally foreign to her. I lie her down at night, place the blanket over her and what does she do? She takes it off and throws it out of the crib. Now what am I supposed to do this winter? Dress her like the Michelin Man so she stays warm? I live in the mountains now, and heat ain’t cheap.

Now, in the grand scheme a blanket isn’t that serious. Something that I do find serious is the extreme push to vaccinate our kids with what (I feel) is an unnecessary amount vaccines. There is a lot of literature dedicated both ways on the subject, and I’m not going to get on my soapbox and preach too much, but come on. Varicella-really? Chicken pox is a right of passage. Hepatitis B-RIDICULOUS. I’m not some crazy anti-vaccine mother by any stretch of the imagination. I think vaccines just illustrate the point that it’s hard for us parents to listen to our inner voices about what’s right, what’s wrong and what’s just silly.

I’d love to get other parents views on this topic.

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “Brushing teeth, etc.

  1. Papou says:

    Mom,
    Chicken pox can be miserable, and leaves you vulnerable to shingles later in life. It is a rite of passage that I recommend skipping. Hepatitis B is also a growing problem anyplace where people live in close quarters, e,g, preschool programs. the vaccine is also thought to provide some protection against certain forms of cancer. Parents aren’t an informed source of information about these matters they are more likely to be a source of misinformation, if you want objective information try the NIH, Institute of Child Health website.
    My opinion.

  2. April says:

    Nurse Momma here! I refused the Hep B vaccine and only allow 2 immunizations at a time. It overloads their immune system making them feel worse!

  3. lolo says:

    You guys are in the Blue Ridge mountains now, Who needs teeth .

  4. yaya says:

    Haha Lolo!

    Great shot of Daddy and May by the way.

    I could write a book on vaccines – Skye only recently had some of his Ash.

  5. Mom says:

    Amy, I would like to hear what you have to say some time about the vaccines. I do not agree with the sheer number of them the children get these days and I also don’t think many of them are necessary as the diseases they protect against are not life-threatening. Many of them have proven to be unsafe as well and I think the risks can far outweigh the benefits. It’s good to see that so many young mothers are doing their own research and not just blindly following what the “experts” say.

  6. yaya says:

    I understand the public and personal health benefits of vaccines and don’t know enough about the risks associated with fever and some of the diseases they protect against – so let me say that right away! Ash you would have a clearer line of knowledge on that piece with your background. So without speaking cavalierly I was also concerned about overwhelming a tiny physiological system and actually recently when Skye had the meningitis vaccine and some boosters for college he elected to do it in two visits. I was very cautious when he was a baby much to the dismay of the nurses in my family and generations who have experienced friends and family with devastating diseases that could have been prevented by vaccine. Then as school and pressure to vaccinate became a concern I elected those that we absolutely had to do. The good news is no side effects that we know of, and I believe the latest research is providing reasonable challenges and new hypotheses around etiology of autism (now not pointing toward vaccines). Ultimately each of us as parents (within the limits public schools allows) has to weigh what we understand about the risks and benefits and make the best decision we can about what vaccines and when. I wonder what the awesome Dr. Vest would have to say about this as I believe she has been trained with a great blend of holistic and allopathic knowledge!

Leave a Reply

