I need more exposure exposure

What a beautiful day in Southern California. May and I couldn’t resist a trip to the ocean. It’s days like this where I think, “It’s not so bad living here.”

So…I’ve had my T1i for almost a year and I’m still learning how to use it. Getting the trifecta of exposure elements has proven very difficult for me. Granted, most of my practice has been inside with very poor lighting, but I feel like I should be a little more adept at using it by now. My camera is ridiculously awesome, but who cares how awesome it is if I don’t know how to use it.

This picture of May was taken with an ISO of 100, shutter speed of 1/2500 and aperture of ? Admittedly so, it’s the best one of almost 100 pictures snapped. All of the other pictures I took were okay, but based on exposure standards, they were mediocre at best.

I purchased a book a while back called “Canon Rebel T1i/500D From Snapshots to Great Shots,” but the sections dedicated to exposure are really lacking. Does anyone have any recommendations on a book that explains how to achieve great exposure? Photography is such a beautiful art medium, and I really want to be good at it. Gotta get the basics under control first!

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “I need more exposure exposure

  1. Papou says:

    Beautiful child, where did you find her? Will be a movie star for sure.
    Now that you have mastered the camera, send Papou one of her happy in the playgoround swing, set the shutter speed to at least 500 for an action shot.

  2. Jess says:

    As soon as you find that book, let me know too! I usually set my ISO to Auto because I am sooo not good at getting that straight. I have gotten more comfortable with the f-stop… the lower you set it (whatever your lens allows), the more blurred the background becomes. The sunnier it is and/or the faster the movement of the subject, the higher you want to set the shutter speed. (You probably know that.) There are so many variables that I try to start with my shutter speed depending on the lighting, then move to the f-stop, and then worry about the ISO last. But I am no professional and thats probably why I have yet to learn all the fun things about my t2i too. Keep me posted if you find some useful info 🙂

    • I trust my girl Laura so I think the book is probably legit. I’m going to order it in the next few days and I’ll definitely let you know how it is. I’m the opposite of you. I mess with the ISO more than anything. Because I take most of my pictures inside, I unfortunately have it set on 3200 most of the time. Not recommended. The pictures are always just so so.

Leave a Reply

