Deadpan Pumpkin

So all day yesterday I was so excited about taking May trick or treating. I brought her back from the doctor, made her take a long mid-afternoon nap, took her to the park, put her down for another nap JUST to make sure that she was well-rested for all the fun that was surely to ensue. About quarter to five I hear her on the monitor and go pluck her out of her room and take her straight to the high chair for her dinner. Then it happen. She started to cry. She NEVER CRIES. Crying for absolutely no reason.

I was able to coax her out of her little fussy state long enough to get her dinner ready. I sat down and started to feed her and SHE WOULDN’T EAT. Yesterday I covered how large she is, so you can imagine that this child eats her solids with gusto. She would not eat.

I took her out of the high chair and put her on the floor to play and she just wouldn’t stop fussing. I called Daniel and broke the bad news that trick or treating might not happen.

This genre of fussiness has only been seen one other time in May, and that was after her very first round of vaccines. We took her to the doctor at two months, where she got her chemical cocktail (don’t get me started on vaccines) and all seemed well…until about 5 hours later. May screamed. And screamed. And screamed. For hours. -side note- all you new moms reading this, be prepared for the devil to get into your child after the first round of vaccines. Our pediatrician left out the part where she’ll turn from a seemingly content child into a child that is straight up on fire. Yesterday was similar to that, but on a much smaller scale.

About 5:30 May seemed okay, so I took the leap and started to put on her costume. To show her displeasure, she lodged a protest by blowing  raspberries. I knew that this trick or treating adventure was going to be a challenge.

However, once I picked up Daniel from work, and we got to Corona del Mar to walk around, she had chilled out considerably. I wouldn’t say that she was happy, or excited to be dressed up in her puffy pumpkin, but she was at least tolerating the situation. I think this picture of her sums the night up perfectly:

I came. I saw. I tricked. I treated. I posed. I'm tired.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although she wasn’t feeling 100%, I’d like to think that she had a good time. At least I got some cute pictures out of it:)

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Deadpan Pumpkin

  1. auntie mo says:

    Dying!! That pic is priceless!

  2. Papou says:

    A precious little pumpkin, for sure.

    My maternal grandmother would have said “Now that is a true Sehrt baby.”
    If you were chunky you weren’t healthy and she would see to it that you were fed lots of her home made veggie soup and noodles to fatten you!.

    Bummer about the vaccine but important in the long run.
    Hopefully, the doc will have an infant’s nasal spray form of flu vaccine.

Leave a Reply

