Happy 6 Month Birthday, May!

On October 27th, May had her 6 month birthday. Oh how time flies. I really cannot believe that May has been in our lives for half a year. So much has happened. We moved back to California, we’ve had visitors galore. May has grown up so much from that little (or should I say BIG) newborn we brought home in May (after her extended stay in the NICU).

Look at her now!

Practicing my runner's stretch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here at the 6 month mark, May is a little over 20lbs and putting away some serious groceries.

I'm excersaucing so I can eat as much as I want!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She’s sitting up (with a wee bit of assistance).

Doing my best froggy impression

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And her newest addition seems to be the appearance of a some hair and maaaybe some teeth on the bottom?!

Teeth: the better to eat groceries with!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reflecting back on what happened six months ago, I can’t help but think about what else was going on in the world during out stay at Chez Banner Good Samaratin/Phoenix Children’s Hospital.

4/25/11-4/28/11

2011 Tornado Super Outbreak. During this time period, the most violent and largest tornado outbreak in American History occurred. This outbreak produced tornadoes in six states, including Virginia. While I was in labor, my uncle’s house was being destroyed. Thankfully he, his wife and daughter survived, but lost almost everything. April 27th was the deadliest day of the outbreak. Crazy.

4/28/11

A quaint little wedding happened: Kate and Wills!  I had been looking so forward to that wedding. At about 4am I watched a little bit of it from my hospital bed, but didn’t enjoy it, given that May was across the way in the NICU.

Opting for a low key affair.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5/1/11

Obama kill Osama. This was especially bananas to me. I’ll never forget how I heard Osama was killed. Daniel and I were taking shifts at the NICU. I had come back to the apartment to sleep for a few and shower. As I was getting ready to head back to the hospital, I get a phone call from Daniel, asking if I was watching tv, to which I replied “no.” So upon his insistence, I turn on the news and there it was. Osama got his arse lit up by some Navy SEALS in his “mansion” in Pakistan. Bravo!

Side note: was anyone else confused as to why people were referring to Osama’s house as a “mansion?” That place was a DUMP. I’ve seen flop houses on “The Wire” that were nicer than that place.

In the same vein, I guess Bin Laden’s death is sort of like 9/11, you will always remember where you were and what you were doing when you heard.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A lot happened in those first five days. A lot has happened in the last six months. I can’t wait to see what the next six months are going to bring:)

 

I'm this many (!!!!!!) months old!

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Happy 6 Month Birthday, May!

  1. Mom says:

    I love the pictures of my pookie!

  2. lolo says:

    She has your baby eyes. No glo wurm located, lot’s of horses!

  3. OMG! She is so cute with that smile in her pink Pjs!! I want to pinch her wittle cheeeeks 🙂 Happy half birthday May!!

Leave a Reply

